About Me

My name is Kathleen. Caucasian female. American. 30 years old.

I have been married for nearly 7 years to a Nigerian man, and I am mama to Amaliya, a gorgeous 3-year-old beast of a little girl. We live in Southern California. I work in marketing for a company I love. I am going to write for the rest of my life, so I hope one day I can make a living from it.

I have been a runner for five years now, having completed 6 (and counting!) and half marathons and my first 26.2 last fall. My journey towards personal health began a long time ago, in 2003. Since then I've gone from being an extremely unhealthy person to a borderline health nut. I have lost over 90 pounds by eating clean and moving my body.  In 2010, I was diagnosed with Celiac disease and now eat entirely gluten free.  The diagnosis was the best thing that ever happened to me - it totally opened my eyes to the relationship between our bodies and the food we eat. I am always seeking knowledge on how to care for my body and make better choices, and I never hesitate to experiment on myself to see what might work for me. I love cooking for and being active with my family.

I earned my B.A. in International Relations from a University in Kenya, where I lived for two years.  I met my husband there, when we were both innocent young students. In 2014 I wrapped up my MBA as well.  After 25 years in school, I'm still not quite used to having free time again!

I love art, I dabble in ink and pastels, and have an easel permanently set up in the corner of my dining room for oil painting... which sometimes I even sit down and use.

I blog for the pure joy of writing, my love of the community that we are able to forge through the Internet, and with the hope that my words might have a positive impact on someone who reads. 

I believe in positivity, forward motion, and living in a perpetual state of gratitude.  I am in love with my life, even though I am still figuring everything out.

Thanks for letting me share my stories with you.